Follow us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Connect With Us On LinkedIn Watch police videos on BluTube
Register
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By eljefe241

Thread: Question in regards to CMV and Firearms. DOT more specifically.

Exclamation Question in regards to CMV and Firearms. DOT more specifically.

I dont know if any of you can answer this or not, but its worth a shot, never know till you ask.

First, I have to tell you I am a truck driver, currently looking for a driving job, I drove for 2 years with CRST.

I am in a heated debate on whether firearms are allowed in commercial motor vehicles (18 wheelers) if you have a interstate carry permit. Most companies wont allow you to carry a firearm in the truck, by company policy. So we had other means of defense, if we needed it. We are allowed to have a knife, with a blade shorter then 3" I think it is, I'm not sure on that, never carried much more then a pocket knife, so I didnt worry to much. But the discussion I am having is whether or not FIREARMS are allowed in CMV's by Federal DOT, with an interstate carry permit. I KNOW you can NOT take a firearm across state lines without the interstate carry permit.

I have searched high and low and back and forth EVERYWHERE for anything regarding this issue, and I cant find anything.

I have never heard of an "interstate carry permit". As far as I know concealed carry laws for civilians are governed by state laws and you have the ability to travel to states who recognize your home state's concealed carry permit.

There are a number of web sites that have lists of Reciprocity Statesthat will recognize your Florida permit, but that does not address your question about Federal DOT laws, which I am not familiar with.
    " If you would know a man, observe how he treats a cat." - Robert A. Heinlein